The Jean Monnet Department of European Studies

The Department of European Studies  “Jean Monnet“ was  created by the Lugano subsidiary of  Zaklada Europa, a  non-profit Foundation under Croatian law operating since 2013,  and which acts as manager to facilitate  implementation of the European  Center for Education and Research. The educational activities are conducted by  the  Department of Economics of the Croatian State University of Rijeka and the Department of Medicine and the Department of Economics of the Croatian State University of Osijek.

International Conference

October, 7-8 - Locarno

The venues


Locarno is a city of about 50,000 inhabitants located on the north shore of Lake Maggiore, near Ascona, between the Lugano Pre-alps and the Lepontine Alps. Its notoriety is also due to the Locarno Film Festival, the second oldest festival (after Venice) whose first edition took place in 1946.

As the warmest city of Switzerland, with 2,300 hours of sunshine per year, Locarno has a special charm, from a church founded after a Marian apparition, to southern vegetation  characterized by palm and lemon trees growing in the middle of  urban areas.

Heart of the City is Piazza Grande, famous for the yearly film festival, where the narrow alleys of the old town converge towards the Piazza, and is home of the Department of European Studies.



Croatia is an European country, in the geopolitical sense, Central European and Mediterranean country, and geographically located in the northern part of the Adriatic sea,  at 46 km from Trieste.

From July 1st, 2013 the Republic of Croatia became the 28th country member of the European Union and takes part of the European Space for Education and Research.

Croatia has seven State universities: University of Rijeka, University of Osijek, University of Zadar, University of Zagreb ,University of Split, University of Dubrovnik and University of Pula. Since the introduction of the Bologna process in 2003, as a rule, after three years of study there are acquired undergraduate titles of bachelor, after a further two years study you acquire a graduate title and in postgraduate of three years studies you acquire a title of doctor.